I guess a lot of people once was very frustrated when they cannot make their google sites pulic even follow instruction from Google. It is not the first time I used Google Apps, but trust me I still had so much trouble to make my sites public. I will tell you what the trick is.

Firstly you do the following Google’s instruction to change your settings.

To make a site public,

  1. Click on the More Actions menu in the upper right.
  2. Click on Manage Site
  3. Click on the sharing tab
  4. Near the bottom where it says “Advanced Permissions”, check the box that says “Anyone in the world may view this site (make it public)”

Secondly, you need use Web Address Mapping for your Sites homepage. For example, if you site name is Main, than you need add Web Address Mapping for Sites.google.com/a/Your Domain Name/Main/. You may use www as your mapping so that when people type www.yourdomain.com, your Main site will show.

That’s the trick!!! Now I believe you can also solve your problem! Feel free to ask if you need further help for this.